Rainbow Snippets: Twelve Letters

For this week for Rainbow Snippets, I have another snippet from Twelve Letters which is still only 99p until the end of June in the $2.99 and under Bookfunnel Pride Promo.

https://books.bookfunnel.com/Pride_Sale_2_99-and-Under/b921oz8z6f

This under-15k-word novella starts off my ongoing Twelve Letters series with an ensemble cast and some Regency shenanigans!

Authors who take part in Rainbow Snippets each weekend are encouraged to post a few lines from one of their stories on their blog and then link back to the group post on Facebook. I always enjoy joining in with Rainbow Snippets, especially to read and comment on everyone else’s choice of snippet.

I’m continuing from last week’s snippet, where MC Jo Everett attempts to persuade his irascible friend, Captain Ben Harding against fighting a duel. Having been successful, Jo arranges to meet the other party, Edward Stephens, at a coffee house. Edward is a newly qualified doctor who Jo suspects of having a tendre for Ben…

~~~

“Mr. Everett,” Stephens began formally as he reached the table. “I can’t thank you enough for your swift communication in this matter. I am forever in your debt.”

“Don’t give it a second thought, old fellow. And do sit down,” Jo said amiably. “You’ll give me a crick in the neck if I have to keep peering up at you.”

As requested, the young doctor sat opposite Jo. “I feel I owe you my undying gratitude,” he said earnestly.

“Pish,” Jolyon replied airily. “It was a storm in a teacup as far as I am concerned, my dear chap. As I have said to Ben repeatedly, I felt this was merely a misapprehension all along.”

Rather than looking reassured, Stephens’ expression became even more miserable and pinched.

“I shouldn’t have drunk so much,” he said straightforwardly, “I don’t normally. It was meant to be a celebration of my qualifications and I’m not used to such grand surroundings,” he said, referring to the exclusive gentleman’s club that he and his drunken cronies had hazily patronized after several taverns. “Captain Harding is the last person in the world I would have offended,” he said, a flush rising on his cheeks as he took a sip of the strong brew, a speciality of the house.

Jo noticed that tell-tale color with interest. Ah, I thought so, he concluded with some satisfaction.

2 thoughts on “Rainbow Snippets: Twelve Letters

Leave a comment