Rainbow Snippets: An Unlikely Alliance

For this week’s Rainbow Snippets, I have another snippet from my recent release, An Unlikely Alliance which is a 27k MMM Regency novella and in the 45% off Mother’s Day weekend sale with all my ebooks at JMS Books until midnight EST on May 12th.

Authors who take part in Rainbow Snippets each weekend are encouraged to post six or so lines from one of their stories on their blog and then link back to the group post on Facebook. I always enjoy joining in with Rainbow Snippets, especially to read and comment on everyone else’s choice of snippet.

In the past two snippets from An Unlikely Alliance, I’ve focussed on the initial attraction between our trio. But there is another element that brings these three men together in the form of a revenge plot.

In this snippet, Clem unburdens to Abe what went so badly wrong in his recent past and names the culprit of his undoing.

~~~

Abe felt emboldened to ask, “What happened?”

“Hubris,” Clem said. “I was dazzled, mixing with the high and mighty at Oxford as though I was one of them, even though I was a scholarship student. One of my tutors even encouraged me to return for a further degree once I had sufficient funds. I dreamed that one day, I’d teach at my old college.” His sigh was that of an utterly disillusioned man. “I was such a fool to believe I had a chance at any of that.”

“Not foolish at all. I’m sure you were given to believe that was possible.”

“And that’s what caught me out. I rue the day I ever laid eyes on Richard Farquarson. That I believed his promises and accepted his friendship. He didn’t need a secretary but a dupe, and who better than a penniless orphan to take the fall?”

3 thoughts on “Rainbow Snippets: An Unlikely Alliance

Leave a comment