Recent Reads: A Soldier’s Wish and Inevitable

This week, I have two wonderfully perceptive and sensitively-written stories that I’ve thoroughly enjoyed. One is historical, and the other is contemporary. The first, A Soldier’s Wish, is from N.R. Walker who regularly appears in this blog and the second, Inevitable is by Briar Prescott, a new author to me.

A Soldier’s Wish plunges us into 20th-century American history, with the advent of the Vietnam War and great social change. When travelling to the Woodstock Festival, politically active student Gary meets shy farm boy Richard on his way to basic training and war. I loved how N.R. Walker seamlessly transported me to the late sixties, and how the major historical events, such as the Woodstock Festival and the horrors of the Vietnam War, were made small, relatable and human from Gary and Richard’s perspective.

The attitudes and divisions of society at the time provided a rich backdrop to their romance, with its twists and turns and challenges. This was a perfectly told historical romance with note-perfect research to let the love story between this couple shine. I found their story deeply moving.

Moving forward to the 21st century, I found Inevitable to be an emotionally complex and thoughtfully-written story about Drew and Bas, two best friends who are joined at the hip but never quite a couple, because one of them is asexual. When Ezra comes into their lives, there’s a significant shift as all three men find a way to be romantically together.

The depth of characterisation really drew me into this story. I engaged with Drew, Bas and Ezra, their issues, and backstories so much that I was willing the three of them to reach their hard-fought HEA.

Leave a comment