Read Around the Rainbow: Summer and Seasonal Reads

Seasonal reads seem like a great suggestion for this time of year which is summer for our blog ring. But as soon as it was mentioned, some people piped up that they don’t read on a seasonal basis. I’m very glad they said that because I’m the same!

I have to say that I read my fair share of Christmas stories in December, but that’s simply because that’s when they tend to be released! Otherwise, I have no issue with reading a Christmas story in July or vice versa. There’s something to be said for reading stories set on sunny beaches when we’re in the depths of winter!

However, seasonal stories are popular with readers and as a writer, I am happy to conform to that preference. I have three Christmas stories published so far. My very first MM Romance, A Christmas Cotillion, then my Regency-country-house-party-from-hell story, A Midwinter Night’s Magic and finally A Christmas Engagement, set in Regency Bath.

I also enjoy writing Halloween-themed stories, despite the fact it wasn’t historically celebrated! The separate yet linked stories, A Tricky Situation and A Trick of the Light take place one hundred and fifty years apart at Halloween in Bristol. And for this year’s Halloween story, The Monk’s Lair, out on October 28th, I’ve gone full-on Gothic!

My Regency stories set in London tend to be set around the Season, which makes them seasonal in a way! So the six books so far in my Twelve Letters series tend to be set in spring for the Season or the autumn Little Season. However, I am in the middle of writing a Twelve Letters story for JMS’ Advent Calendar submission call which is more conventionally seasonal!

The exception to the Regency Season rule is One Summer Night, which from its giveaway title is set in the summer! Martin and Will’s love story depends on the oppressive sense of summer heat in the city which makes their story steamy in other ways. I really enjoyed drawing parallels with the stifling heat and the social conformity that affects my characters, especially Will. It was no coincidence that my lovers reach an understanding in the relative freedom of Vauxhall Gardens, a popular outdoor entertainment venue where classes mixed and intrigue flourished.

So will I be reading some seasonal reads this summer? Yes, probably. But that will be purely coincidental! All the published titles mentioned are at 50% off in the Smashwords summer sale with many of my stories until the end of July.

My post will be linked on the last Friday of every month with posts from fellow blog ring members. There are six other writers blogging in the Read Around the Rainbow Webring this month… find their posts about their summer and seasonal reads and writing!

Ofelia Grand : Addison Albright : Lillian Francis : Nell Iris : A.L. Lester : Kristin Noone :

8 thoughts on “Read Around the Rainbow: Summer and Seasonal Reads

Leave a comment